Advice from a Muslim and a Request from the Apostle Paul – A Good Combination!

Image

If you had an opportunity, beginning with Moses and all the prophets to share everything about Christ on a seven-mile walk, would you do it?  Or better question, could you do it?

If you are not familiar with this episode in Scripture, it is recorded in Luke 24:13-27.  Jesus interpreted to those two men all the things concerning Himself on the road to Emmaus.  I have always read those verses and secretly thought to myself, “I wish God would give me an opportunity like that, I sure will take full advantage of it.”  Have you ever had that thought?  Then read this story and take heed.

Every summer I make it my goal to share the gospel with at least two people.

This summer I was walking with two camp workers and we saw a chalkboard that they just built in Central Park (not NYC).  It read, “Before I die, I want to…” As the three of us walked, the two of them announced what they wanted to do and then one turned to me and said, “Mr. Spivey, what about you?”  I couldn’t believe it.  It was just like Jesus on the road to Emmaus.  I said, “Before I die, I would like to tell as many people as possible about the Amazing things that Jesus did.”  They both chimed in like a rehearsal for a video, “Oh, that’s a good one.”  Then one of the workers, who happened to be a Muslim, said something that stung like a wet switch on dry skin; because of the timing and his childlike delivery, I know it was sincere.  He said, “Why do you have to wait until then, you can start right now.”  I was not prepared for that comment.  I said something lame like, “Most people think Jesus was only a prophet, but they just don’t know what He has accomplished.”  And then I just stopped.  There was an awkward quiet moment, and then I said, “By the way, what does a dog have to do with Taco Bell?”

I had an opportunity of a lifetime and I switched the conversation to Taco Bell.  Taco Bell?  I felt like that apostle Peter when the Lord looked at him when he denied Jesus the third time.  I will heed that advice, but I have to mix it with Apostle Paul’s request to the Ephesians: “Making supplications for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel” (Ephesians 6:18-19).  Yes, thanks to my Muslim friend, I will change my goal from two to many, AND solicit as many prayers as I can for boldness.  Will you be willing to pray for me this summer?

Brian Spivey

D.O.C.

2 thoughts on “Advice from a Muslim and a Request from the Apostle Paul – A Good Combination!

Chime in...

