Skippy, Jif, Peter Pan or Dynamic Equivalent?

When I grew up I had to spend some time with a babysitter.  She had lunch prepared for me when I got home from school – a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  The only decision I had to make was whether I wanted Peter Pan, Skippy or Jif.  I always chose Jif because “Choosy mothers choose Jif.” I really didn’t think about the decision, the clever advertisers “made” the decision for me.

But is this how most of us choose a Bible translation?

I think it might be worth our while to spend a little more time thinking about what translation we will use for our personal Bible reading and study and what we choose to use in our churches.

choosing a Bible

Leland Ryken has written a 30 page booklet entitled, “Choosing a Bible,” that will help one to make an informed decision.  He explains clearly and briefly the difference between the two different approaches to Bible translation – Dynamic Equivalent and Word-for-Word.  Ryken says that one negative effect of Dynamic Equivalency is we get what the Bible “means,” vs. what the Bible says.

It is a quick read and Ryken explains these complex concepts with simplicity.  I highly recommend this booklet, especially if you don’t want the clever advertisers to make the decision for you.   

Brian L. Spivey

2 thoughts on “Skippy, Jif, Peter Pan or Dynamic Equivalent?

  1. Have to admit, never thought I’d see peanut butter on this blog.

    But this does prove Frame’s assertion that all theology is practical 🙂

    Now on to the real controversial issues, like which is better, jelly or fluff?

Chime in...

